Band and Orchestral Instruments

In 1931, George Archer Toole, from Standard Realty, donated the G.A.Toole Cup for Junior Orchestra, originally elementary school orchestras up to grade eight. The 1990’s saw high school bands competing for this trophy and by 2006, it had been awarded forty-six times. *

Between 2007 and 2019 there was some confusion as the original cup disappeared and reappeared twice. New cups were purchased for the use of intermediate and senior bands and junior ensembles. After the 2019 festival, the cups were retired as there was no interest from the local school bands.

Senior orchestras were also recognized at that first festival in 1931. The Kenora Women’s Institute Cup was awarded to the Lakeside Senior Orchestra. The Rideout Women’s Institute took over support of this cup in 1956 and sponsored it until 2005. It was won 30 times – Kenora-Keewatin District High School (1956), Northward School (1962 and 1963), St. Louis School (1965), Kenora String Ensemble (1966), Fort Frances High School Band (1967),Dryden High School Band (1968), Lakewood Secondary School Band (1969, 1972 and 1975), Beaver Brae Secondary School Band (1973, 1974, 1976, 1979, 1983, 1986, 1987, 1993-2005).

The Mary K. Sibbald Trophy for Junior School Recorder Ensembles was donated in 1992 by Mrs. Pat Ford in memory of her mother. Mrs. Sibbald’s children were all Festival participants and later Pat Ford was involved with the committee. It has been awarded to school ensembles 9 times – King George VI (1993 and 1994), Keewatin Public (1995, 2000, and 2001), Evergreen (2002), and Ste. Marguerite Bourgeoys (2003, 2015, and 2016).

Over the years trophies have been offered to individuals.

From 1968 to 1982 the Margaret Korvas Trophy for Accordian, donated by Mrs. Charlie Pederson, was won by six times (Karen Bruckenberger-1968, David Golchesky-1969, Judy Palipowski-1970, Rodney Alcock-1971, Larry Krolyk-1972, and Lenard Whiting-1973).

The Kenora Kinsmen’s Trophy for solo instruments (brass, woodwind, strings, and percussion) was donated in 1978 for performances at the RCM (Royal Conservatory of Music) grade 4 to 7 level. It has been awarded thirty-four times.*

In answer to requests for more senior awards, the Ontario Registered Music Teachers’ Association Plaque was offered to contestants at the RCM grade 8 level. This has been awarded twice- to Lindsay Mulash in 2005 and Samantha Makl in 2010. In 2013 the J.J.H. McLean Trophy was offered to contestants at the RCM grade 9 level. In 2015 this trophy was renamed the Ruth Girard Trophy. For contestants at the grade 10 level, the Rose Bowl is available. More information on this award will be found in the vocal section.*

To encourage solo band performers who had learned music in school and did not necessarily have the benefits of RCM training, the Symphonic, Winds, and Percussion Band Parents’ Association offered two trophies in 2009 – one for participants in grades 8 and 9 (discontinued in 2019), and another for participants in grades 10 to 12. This trophy was awarded in 2010 to Samantha Makl, Peter Karle and Kelsey Nordstrom. The recipient in 2013 was Hannah Edie. It is still available today.

The winners of these trophies are listed in the Appendix.