From 1958 to 1982, elementary schools could compete for the Kenora Miner and News Trophy offered for square and folk dancing. The winners were: Keewatin Public School (1958), Evergreen School (1960, 1961, 1963, 1964, 1966, and 1969), Northward School (1962 and 1970), Albert School in Dryden (1965), Central School (1967), King George VI School (1978), Valleyview School (1980), and Mount Carmel School (1982).

The Starlight Dance Studio Trophy for solo dancing was offered from1965 to 1982. There were 8 winners – Pattigail Collins (1965), Charlene Manson (1966), Donna Shrub (1967), Lesia Atamaniuk (1969), Nikki Dubenski (1970), David Jorgenson (1975), Diane Ukrainec (1978), and Brenda Melenchenko (1982).

The Bev Adams Talent Award (1965 to 1971) was for couples and groups performing polkas, jigs, reels and other ethnic dances. This was awarded 3 times to Cheryl Craig and Elizabeth Adams (1967), Lesia Atamaniuk and Myron Pestaluky (1968), and in 1969, to Rosalind Woitowicz and Myron Pestaluky.

In 2015 the Kenora District Festival of the Arts was pleased to welcome Dance back to the festival after an 8 year absence. Two awards were offered in the spring of 2016. The Adjudicator’s Choice has been won by Josee McDonald (2016 and 2017) and in 2018 and 2019 by the Senior Ensemble of Danceworks Kenora (DWK).

The Student Choreography Award (scholarship included) has been won by Skylar Warren (2016), Kennedy Cook (2017 and 2018) and in 2019 by Kayleen Desbiens with runner up, Brooklyn Francis. A third award, The Emerging Dancer, was planned for 2020 but the COVID 19 pandemic cancelled that festival.